Alumna awarded for work in university teaching

19 June 2014

Academic Dr Beth Beckmann has won a prestigious National Teaching Fellowship in recognition of her expertise in improving the quality of university teaching.

Dr Beckmann is the first person from ANU to win the Fellowship, awarded to prominent scholars in their field by the Australian Government’s Office for Learning and Teaching.

Dr Beckmann, from the ANU Centre for Higher Education, Learning and Teaching, has spent 20 years promoting quality university teaching and has influenced hundreds of students and fellow academics.

“It’s an honour to be the first National Teaching Fellow from ANU,” Dr Beckmann said.

“I’m looking forward to contributing to professional recognition of university teachers at ANU and with colleagues around the country.”

In 2010 Dr Beckmann was recognised by the ANU with a Vice-Chancellor’s Award for a Program that Enhances Learning, and in 2013 won an Australian Awards for University Teaching Citation for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning.

The National Teaching Fellowships, announced by Education Minister Christopher Pyne, allow leading educators to undertake strategic, high-profile activities in areas of importance to the education sector.

“Through their fellowship activities, Fellows have a positive and lasting influence and impact on higher education practice in Australia,” the OLT said.

Page owner: Alumni