The University is governed by a 15 member Council. As the governing authority, the primary functions of the Council are:

  1. strategic oversight of the University, including:
  • setting the mission, values and strategic direction of the University; and
  • ongoing review of the success of those strategies.
  1. ensuring effective overall governance and management of the University, including:
  • appointing the Chancellor and Pro-Chancellor;
  • appointing the Vice-Chancellor as principal academic and chief executive officer of the University, and monitoring his or her performance;
  • overseeing and reviewing the management of the University and its performance;
  • ensuring that the strategic goals set by the Council are delivered by effective management systems;
  • overseeing and monitoring the academic activities of the University;
  • establishing policy and procedural principles, consistent with legal requirements and community expectations.
  1. ensuring responsible financial and risk management of the University, including:
  • approving the annual budget, business plan and annual report;
  • overseeing and monitoring the assessment and management of risk across the University, including in its commercial undertakings;
  • approving and monitoring systems of control and accountability for the University and any entities controlled by the University (within the meaning of section 50AA of the Corporations Act 2001);
  • approving significant commercial activities of the University.

The academic standards, management and administration of the University are the responsibility of the Vice-Chancellor, in accordance with the Vice-Chancellorship Statute 2013 and subject to any resolution of the Council.

The Chair, Academic Board, is an active participant at Council meetings.


Category Member Term expiry
Chancellor The Hon Julie Bishop
31 Dec 2026
Vice-Chancellor Professor Brian P. Schmidt AC FAA FRS
31 Dec 2025
Seven members appointed by the Minister Ms Naomi Flutter
30 Jun 2022
Dr Doug McTaggart
31 Jul 2023
Ms Alison Kitchen
30 Jun 2025
Ms Anne-Marie Schwirtlich AM
30 Jun 2025
Professor Suzanne Cory AC
30 Jun 2022
Ms Padma Raman PSM
30 Jun 2025
Ms Tanya Hosch
30 Jun 2024
Deans and research school heads member Professor Juliana Ng
29 Sep 2022
Academic staff (Faculties) member Professor Asmi Wood
29 Sep 2022
Academic staff (Institute) member Professor Kate Reynolds
29 Sep 2022
Professional staff member Ms Caterina Giugovaz
25 May 2022
Postgraduate student member Ms Eve Walker
5 Nov 2021
Undergraduate student member Ms Madhumitha Janagaraja
30 Nov 2021
Chair, Academic Board (non voting) Professor Joan Leach


Date & location Deadlines Heritage inventory Minutes
Friday 14 Feb, 10.55am
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Agenda deadline
22 Jan
Agenda (PDF, 7.54 MB) Minutes (PDF, 91.86 KB)
Friday 3 Apr, 9.15am
By video conference
Agenda deadline
11 Mar
Agenda (PDF, 2.88 MB) Minutes (PDF, 96.36 KB)
Friday 1 May, 9.15am
By video conference
Agenda deadline
22 Apr
Agenda (PDF, 646.75 KB) Minutes (PDF, 68.03 KB)
Friday 29 May, 9.15am
By video conference
Agenda deadline
6 May
Agenda (PDF, 4.52 MB) Minutes (PDF, 91.3 KB)
Friday 31 Jul, 9.15am
By video conference
Agenda deadline
8 Jul
Agenda (PDF, 6.88 MB) Minutes (PDF, 96.71 KB)
Tuesday 15 Sep, 8.30am
By video conference
Agenda deadline
4 Sep
Agenda (PDF, 653.04 KB) Minutes (PDF, 75.68 KB)
Friday 2 Oct, 9.15am
By video conference
Agenda deadline
9 Sep
Agenda (PDF, 8.02 MB) Minutes (PDF, 97.11 KB)
Friday 4 Dec, 9.15am
By video conference
Agenda deadline
11 Nov
Agenda (PDF, 2.55 MB) Minutes (PDF, 88.83 KB)
Date & location Deadlines
Thursday 11 Feb, 9.15am
Agenda deadline
20 Jan
Friday 9 Apr, 9.15am
Agenda deadline
17 Mar
Friday 28 May, 9.15am
Agenda deadline
5 May
Friday 30 Jul, 9.15am
Agenda deadline
7 Jul
Friday 1 Oct, 9.15am
Agenda deadline
8 Sep
Friday 3 Dec, 9.15am
Agenda deadline
10 Nov