Election to Council of two academic staff members

Election to Council of two Academic Staff Members

Council Elections 2022 - Academic Staff

Terms for current Council members - Professor Kate Reynolds and Professor Asmi Wood - as elected by ANU academic staff, will end on 29 September 2022.  It is necessary therefore to hold an election in order to elect two members of the academic staff of the University to the ANU Council.

The ANU Council is the governing body of the University. The role of the ANU Council and its committees is to ensure effective overall governance and management of the University.  There are currently 15 positions on the ANU Council consisting of the Chancellor, the Vice-Chancellor, members elected by the academic and professional staff, undergraduate and postgraduate students, as well as seven external members appointed by the Federal Minister for Education.  The Chair of the Academic Board is a non-voting member of the ANU Council.

Report of the Returning Officer on the election of two members of Council by members of the Academic Staff of the University

The 2022 election of two members of Council by members of the academic staff of the University was held in accordance with the Australian National University Act 1991, theAustralian National University (Governance) Statute 2020and theGovernance Rule 2020.

Four candidates were nominated for each of the two available positions on Council.  All candidates and their nominators were checked against the academic staff roll comprising those holding a full-time or part-time standard or fixed term academic staff appointment in the University, of or above the grade of academic level A, on payday 21 July 2022 and who were paid a salary by the University on that day. All nominations were in order.

The nominated candidates were:

Academic Staff (Faculties) member

  • Dr Liz Allen
  • Associate Professor Aude Fahrer
  • Professor Fiona Jenkins  
  • Professor Karima Laachir

Academic Staff (Institute) member

  • Professor Amanda Barnard
  • Associate Professor Joe Coventry
  • Professor Anna Moore
  • Professor Lyndall Strazdins

An electronic ballot was conducted, using the University's APOLLO system. By the close of the poll, at 5pm on Thursday 15 September, 337 academic staff had registered a vote. 

The electronic count was conducted by the Returning Officer and the Corporate Governance and Risk Office via a Zoom videoconference at 1.30pm on Friday 16 September, with two nominated scrutineers in attendance.

Following the count of preferences, I declare the following candidates elected to ANU Council:

Dr Liz Allen as the Academic Staff (Faculties) member
Professor Lyndall Strazdins as the Academic Staff (Institute) member

Dr Allen and Professor Strazdins will hold office from 30 September 2022 until 29 September 2024.

For more information regarding ANU Council Elections, timetables and election rules, please direct all enquiries to me via email returning.officer@anu.edu.au.


Chris Reid
Returning Officer

Secretary - ANU Council
Director, Corporate Governance and Risk Office
Office of the Vice-Chancellor


Election Timetable


Call for Nominations commences


10am Information Session


5pm Nominations close


Voting links to be sent to eligible staff


Voting Closes 5pm


Scrutiny of final results & announcement of elected members