Australian Grape & Wine Authority Scholarships


The Australian Grape and Wine Authority (AGWA) is accepting applications until Friday 7 November 2014 for PhD, Masters and Honours scholarships to commence in 2015.

AGWA’s commitment to academic scholarships is one way in which it supports a competitive Australian wine sector across the whole value chain, ‘from vine to glass'.

The scholarships aim to attract postgraduate students to study in wine- and viticulture-related fields. Research with Kevin Powell (DEPI, Victoria) and Paul Cooper (ANU) will be focused on the relation between scale insects (Parthenolcanium sp.) and grape vine varieties in southeastern Australia.

Scholarships will commence from 1 January 2015.


Domestic or International students are eligible, although AGWA does not pay international fees.  Student must be admitted into the PhD in EEG at ANU.  Scholarships are awarded on the basis of:

  • academic excellence;
  • the quality of an applicant’s Curriculum vitae;
  • the area of study of the proposed PhD program;
  • the likelihood of the student’s ongoing involvement in the wine industry.  

Applications will be assessed by AGWA R&D Program Managers against specific criteria including funding availability.

How to apply

Applicants are advised to consult AGWA’s (formerly GWRDC) Strategic Research, Development and Extension Plan 2012–17 and the Guidelines for PhD, Masters and Honours Applications when developing their applications.

Applications must be submitted directly to AGWA through CIMS including one certified copy of your current Academic Transcript, one copy of your current Curriculum vitae and one signed copy of the proposed supervisors confirmation of support. To access CIMS, you need to obtain a log in and password.