Four ANU students receive 2018 Hawker Scholarships

18 June 2018

Four ANU students based at Burgmann College have been awarded C.A.S Hawker Scholarships for 2018.

The four students were awarded from a field of 180 applicants and join 118 Australian students who have received the scholarships since 1990.

The C.A.S Hawker residential scholarships were set up in honour of Australian politician Charles Allan Seymour Hawker to assist students meet their expenses while studying. Each of the scholarships is valued at up to $60,000 over three years.

Solomon Jones, who is enrolled in the Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) and Commerce degrees, says receiving the scholarship is "incredible".

"I'll be honest in saying that upon receiving the call I had a wild fist-pump in the air in excitement!" Solomon said.

"I look forward to making the most of the opportunities that it has opened up for me."

Jennifer Kerr, who is studying a double degree comprising of the Bachelor of Politics, Philosophy and Economics, and the Bachelor of Arts, says she was speechless when she found out about the scholarship.

"I am so grateful to have received the C.A.S Hawker Scholarship," Jennifer said.

"I have always wanted to live in a residential college and without this scholarship, I would not have had the opportunity."

The fact that all four recipients are from Burgmann is something the group are also proud of.

"I think it is amazing that such a diverse group of individuals from all over Australia, coming from both urban and regional areas, have been able to come to ANU and live together at Burgmann," Jennifer said.

"Over the last two semesters we have really gotten to know each other and as a group we get along really well."

Jennifer, Solomon and their fellow residents Nathalie Johnstone and Olivia Turner were awarded their scholarships at a ceremony at the Australian War Memorial on Friday 8 June by the War Memorial's Director Dr Brendan Nelson AO, who was awarded an Honorary Doctorate from ANU in 2016.