Chopin semi-finalists announced

18 September 2014

Six of the world's best young pianists have made it through the preliminary rounds of the second Australian International Chopin competition.

Elina Akselrud (Ukraine/USA), Daria Kameneva (Russia), Lucasz Krupinski (Poland), Kotaro Nagano (Japan), Piotr Nowak (Poland) and Maciej Wota (Poland) have made it through to the semi-final.

The competitors have a rest day on Thursday, with a special youth masterclass being held in the Larry Sitsky Recital Room.

The semi-finals begin Friday morning (19 September) at Llewellyn Hall at the ANU School of Music, while the finals will take place on Sunday 21 September.

The semi-final and final will be streamed online and can be viewed live at

More information on the Chopin competition is on the ANU School of Music website.