ANU Westpac Scholarship Recipients honoured at 200th Westpac celebrations

13 April 2017

The University's 2017 Westpac scholarship recipients were officially recognised at the bank's recent 200th birthday celebrations in Sydney.

The group of seven Asian Exchange students, three Future Leaders and a Westpac Research Fellow were officially recognised at the gala event.

To mark the bank's 200th anniversary, Westpac established a $100m endowment program to fund 100 scholarships a year, forever. The program supports young Australians who have the drive and passion to contribute to Australia's growth and prosperity. 

At the awards ceremony, the ANU 2016 Westpac Research Fellow Dr Antonio Tricoli told the audience winning the fellowship has made a huge impact on his career.

"Overall it's been a tremendous year and one in which I've been challenged like never before", he said.

All scholarship recipients are also invited to become lifelong members of the 'Westpac 100', an empowered network of diverse, talented and committed collaborators who will shape a better future for Australia.

ANU has collaborated with Westpac to offer three of the Foundation's five scholarship programs: the undergraduate Asian Exchange scholarship; the Future Leaders PhD scholarship; and the Westpac Research Fellowship, supporting early career researchers. 

Since its inaugural year in 2015, ANU has been awarded 20 Westpac Scholarships and two prestigious Westpac Research Fellowships.

The next round of Westpac Future Leaders PhD Scholarships and Westpac Research Fellowships will open for applications in June 2017. 

Applications are encouraged from those with a passion to learn and lead, and whose proposed program of study is relevant to at least one of the Foundation's focus areas: technology/innovation, strengthening Australia's ties with Asia and enabling positive social change.

Learn more and hear from a Westpac Representative and a current Westpac Scholar at an information session held at the Australian Centre on China in the World on 18 May, 5pm-7pm.

Find out more:

Westpac Future Leaders PhD Scholarship

Westpac Research Fellowship

The Westpac Bicentennial Foundation