ANU honours its top media performers

15 December 2014


The ANU has honoured its top media performers of 2014 at the annual University media awards.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Young congratulated all the winners and thanked everyone at the ANU who helped strengthen the University’s profile and reputation by sharing their expertise with the news media in the past year.

Awards were given for the most innovative communications projects, best use of social media, emerging talent, improving the quality of public debate, high impact and public policy impact.

“All of you have played a significant role in raising the profile of ANU this year, but more importantly you have helped to raise the standard of public debate in this country and beyond,” Professor Young said.

“You have given the public better information and analysis to base their choices and views on and that is a critical contribution to democracy.”

Professor Young also presented his Vice-Chancellor’s awards for advancing the reputation of the University. Winners were:

Emeritus Fellow Colin Steele, for attracting some of the world’s best writers to speak at the ANU.

Emeritus Professor Des Ball, for a 50 year career with global significance in defence and strategic affairs.

Emeritus Professor John Love, for his generous gift of $1million to establish a scholarship to help students reach their full potential.

Professor Ian McAllister, from the College of Arts and Social Sciences, for his work on the ANUpoll, which has tracked public opinion for more than three decades.

Professor Ken Baldwin, from the ANU Energy Change Institute for his contribution to climate debate and research and for hosting a hectic visit by former US Energy secretary Steven Chu.

Other award winners were:

Most unusual story – Dr Don Driscoll and Dr Sam Banks from the Fenner School of Environment and Society for their story about cannibal horses in the Snowy Mountains.

Social Media – Dr Matthew Rimmer from the ANU College of Law, for his strong influence in Twitter.

Innovative Communications Project – Amy Jarvis, Heritage Officer in Facilities and Planning, for her work on the Mt Stromlo interactive heritage trail.

Emerging Talent – Dr Jill Sheppard, from the College of Arts and Social Sciences, for her work on the latest ANUpoll.

Improving the quality of public debate – Professor Peter Collignon and Associate Professor Sanjaya Senanayake, for their work to explain the complex issues around Ebola to Australians.

Highest Impact – Dr Steve Lee, for his invention of a droplet lens which converts a smart phone into a mobile microscope.

Best talent on film – Dr Paul Francis from the College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, for his work on astronomy MOOCs, and whose video of Greatest Unsolved Mysteries has had more than 850 000 views.

Most impressive media performance – Dr John Blaxland, from the College of Asia and the Pacific, who did 30 media interviews on one day after a Malaysian airliner was shot down.

Op-ed writer of the year - Kim Huynh, from the College of Arts and Social Sciences, for his op-ed The life and death of the hipster generation.

Public policy impact - Professor Bruce Chapman, from the Crawford School of Public Policy, for his contribution and research into deregulation of the higher education sector.