Joyce Yang

Presented by: Musica Viva

RACHMANINOFF Three Preludes 
JANÁČEK Piano Sonata 1.X.1905 
LISZT Spanish Rhapsody 
Elizabeth YOUNAN [New work]*
LISZT Sonata in B minor

*Commissioned for Musica Viva by Julian Burnside
Joyce Yang is one of the leading pianists in the newest generation of virtuosi. As the youngest competitor in the 2005 Van Cliburn Competition, she was awarded a silver medal and she has since gone on to countless other accolades and a skyrocketing career. On her first full Australian recital tour, she presents a program of music that pianists love to play, and piano lovers love to hear. 

Offering a true understanding of such a beloved instrument, these rich and characterful works all come from composers who themselves were masters of the keyboard. From Chopin, Debussy, Rachmaninoff and Grieg, Joyce shows not only her technical brilliance, but ability to convey intense emotion with personality and flair.