Canberra Symphony Orchestra Llewellyn Series: Piano


Conductor: Jessica Cottis

Piano: Daniel de Borah


  • Rautavaara: Cantus Arcticus (Concerto for Birds and Orchestra), op.61
  • Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No.1 in C minor, op.35
  • Beethoven: Symphony No.6 in F major, op.68 (Pastoral)

The ActewAGL Llewellyn Series takes flight with one of the most colourful and diverse figures in Finnish music, Einojuhani Rautavaara. His Cantus Arcticus is an intricate piece in three movements that incorporates recordings of birds found near the Arctic Circle as well as bogs of Liminka in northern Finland.

This is followed by Shostakovichs Piano Concerto No.1 in C minor. In this piece, the trumpet offers a sardonic commentary to Daniel de Borahs melancholic solo piano, revealing all the wit and energy to be found in Shostakovich's youthful piece.

Finally, Conductor Jessica Cottis will guide the Orchestra through the warmest and most beloved of all Beethovens symphonies, Symphony No.6. It evokes an afternoon in the country outside Vienna with rippling brooks, birds, peasants dancing, the fury of a storm and relief at its passing. "A fresh approach to a work of music..... usually comes to those who have a fresh approach to aspects of life, to life in general." - Shostakovich