Charles Darwin University

ANU and Charles Darwin University (CDU) signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on 17 March 2010.

In addition to increasing research linkages, the ANU and CDU alliance agreed to improve pathways to university study for students from regional and rural Australia, including those from lower socio-economic backgrounds.

The universities are exploring ways to introduce Foundation Degrees - two-year full-time equivalent awards based on workplace integrated learning and focussed on increasing participation in tertiary education.

The alliance will also enable shared courses in areas like music and language study, as well as allowing ANU and CDU staff to share expertise in campus sustainability projects.

The MOU will enable students enrolled in ANU Graduate Studies Select programs to undertake CDU subjects and have them recognised for their qualifications.

Key agreements

  • Develop collaborative educational initiatives commencing in 2009/2010.
  • Pursue 'hub and spoke' arrangements in research with each university contributing according to its existing and emerging specialisations and strengths.
  • Support their collaborative initiatives by facilitating staff exchanges and professional development workshops.
  • Ensure that a designated person at each institution will oversee and facilitate implementation of the agreement.
  • Make appropriate internal arrangements to promote and encourage the development of the cooperative relationship.
Page owner: Executive Office