Roll of honour

ANU recognises the exceptional scholarship, citizenship or services of our friends, partners and mentors. The University also bestows emeritus and honorary titles on staff and supporters who have contributed notably to the University.

Emeritus Fellows

Emeritus Fellows are distinguished staff members (academic and general) who have not been Professors but who are deemed to have made a distinguished contribution to the University deserving of recognition.
  • John Douglas Fitz Gerald (1980–2011)
  • Robert Gingold (1981–2007)
  • Ronald James May (1972–2004)
  • Colin Robert Steele (1976–2003)
  • Dr David Christopher Happold (1976–1997)

Honorary University Fellows

Honorary University Fellows are people who have not been staff members but who are deemed to have given significant meritorious service to the University.
  • Ian Francis Grigg

Honorary graduates

Here you can browse through our list of honorary graduates and learn about their distinguished achievements.

Award key

  • HonLittD: Honorary Doctor of Letters
  • HonMA: Honorary Master of Arts
  • HonLLD: Honorary Doctor of Laws
  • HonMSc: Honorary Master of Science
  • HonDSc: Honorary Doctor of Science
  • HonDUniv: Honorary Doctor of the University


    David Noel Ferguson Dunbar HonLLD
    Robert Adrian Langdon HonMA


    The Rt. Hon. Sir Zelman Cowen HonLLD


    Oskar Hermann Khristian Spate HonLittD
    Dame Leonie Judith Kramer HonLLD


    Charles Dunford Rowley HonLLD
    Joan Meredith Lynravn HonMA
    Herbert Burton HonLLD


    Hugh Stretton HonLittD
    Geoffrey Sawer HonLittD
    Wilfred David Borrie HonLLD
    Saburo Okita HonLLD


    Nancy Phillips HonMA
    Rudolf Richard Willing HonMSc
    Judith Arundell Wright McKinney HonLittD


    Ms Patricia Croft HonMA
    Dame Joan Sutherland HonLLD
    Professor Reginald Claude Sprigg HonDSc
    Mr Norman Barnett Tindale HonDSc
    Professor Percy Herbert Partridge HonLLD
    Mr Frederick David McCarthy HonDSc
    The Hon. Sir Anthony Frank Mason HonLLD
    Emeritus Professor Sir Leonard George Holden Huxley HonDSc


    John Paul Wild HonDSc
    Emeritus Professor Sir Rutherford Ness Robertson HonDSc
    The Rt. Hon. Michael Thomas Somare HonLLD


    Sir Leslie Galfreid Melville HonLLD
    Dr Douglas Frew Waterhouse HonDSc


    Emeritus Professor Clinton Hartley Grattan HonLLD
    Emeritus Professor Sir Roy Douglas Wright HonLLD