Roll of honour

ANU recognises the exceptional scholarship, citizenship or services of our friends, partners and mentors. The University also bestows emeritus and honorary titles on staff and supporters who have contributed notably to the University.

Emeritus Fellows

Emeritus Fellows are distinguished staff members (academic and general) who have not been Professors but who are deemed to have made a distinguished contribution to the University deserving of recognition.
  • John Douglas Fitz Gerald (1980–2011)
  • Robert Gingold (1981–2007)
  • Ronald James May (1972–2004)
  • Colin Robert Steele (1976–2003)
  • Dr David Christopher Happold (1976–1997)

Honorary University Fellows

Honorary University Fellows are people who have not been staff members but who are deemed to have given significant meritorious service to the University.
  • Ian Francis Grigg

Honorary graduates

Here you can browse through our list of honorary graduates and learn about their distinguished achievements.

Award key

  • HonLittD: Honorary Doctor of Letters
  • HonMA: Honorary Master of Arts
  • HonLLD: Honorary Doctor of Laws
  • HonMSc: Honorary Master of Science
  • HonDSc: Honorary Doctor of Science
  • HonDUniv: Honorary Doctor of the University


    Mr Kevin Rudd HonLLD
    Emeritus Professor Ian Donaldson HonDUniv
    Dr Marty Natalegawa HonLittD
    Sir Angus Houston HonLLD
    Ms Therese Rein HonLLD


    Dame Marilyn Strathern HonLittD
    Emeritus Professor Larry Sitsky HonDUniv
    Professor Chintamani Nagesa Ramachandra (CNR) Rao HonDSc
    Justice Stephen Gageler HonLLD
    Professor Adrian Pagan HonLittD
    Graham Tuckwell HonDUniv
    Louise Tuckwell HonDUniv


    Steven Chu HonLittD
    John Bryant HonLittD
    William Thomas Cooper HonDSc
    Wendy Elizabeth Cooper HonDSc
    Chunli Bai HonDSc


    Dr Mari Elka Pangestu HonLittD
    Dr Boediono HonLittD
    Daw Aung San Suu Kyi HonLittD


    Michael Delaney HonDUniv
    Paul Frank Baum HonDSc
    Sir Roderick Ian Eddington AO, HonDSc
    Akio Mimura HonDSc


    Ian William Chubb AC HonDUniv
    Annabelle Claire Bennett AO HonDUniv


    Michael Alexander McRobbie AO HonLittD
    Emeritus Professor Peter Drysdale HonLittD


    Hadi Soesastro HonLittD
    Ian Francis Grigg AM HonDUniv